IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2022

This article contains an updated list of ipl champions from 2008 to 2021. These static questions will assist you in passing the exam. Read the entire article for more information about the IPL winners list.
Winners of the Indian Premier League (IPL): It’s all part of the game, whether you win or lose. Despite this, each club seeks to win every game. IPL questions are posed in a variety of defence tests, including CDS, NDA, AFCAT, and others. As a result, we developed this comprehensive post about the IPL winner list so that you may answer any of your questions about it.

Winner of the IPL in 2021

The Chennai Super Kings defeated the Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the IPL 2021. In 20 overs, KKR scored 165 runs while lost 9 wickets. CSK scored 192 runs while losing three wickets in the same match. CSK has now won the IPL four times.

List of IPL Winners

The Indian Premier League, or IPL, is a Twenty20 domestic cricket event in India administered by the IPL Governing Councils, which are governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The BCCI established the IPL in 2007, which includes of eight teams (named after different Indian cities).

Every year, this league is held during the months of March and May. The names of all eight IPL teams, in which players from any country are recruited, are shown below.

Sr. No. Name of the Team Owner of the Team Debut
1. Chennai Super Kings N. Srinivasan 2008
2. Delhi Capitals Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao
Sajjan Jindal
3. Kolkata Knight Riders Shah Rukh Khan
Jay Mehta
4. Mumbai Indians Mukesh Ambani 2008
5. Punjab Kings Mohit Burman
Ness Wadia
Preity Zinta
Karan Paul
6. Rajasthan Royals Manoj Badale
Gerry Cardinale
Lachlan Murdoch
7. Royal Challengers Bangalore Vijay Mallya 2008
8. Sunrisers Hyderabad Kalanithi Maran 2013

There were five more teams which got dissolved. Here is the list:

Team Owner Debut Dissolved
Kochi Tuskers Kerala Ravindra Gaikwad
Shailendra Gaikwad
Shashi Tharoor
Mukesh Patel
Mehul Shah
Harshad Ramniklal Mehta
Rihen Harshad Mehta
Ramesh Khanna
Anand Shyam
Vivek Venugopal
2011 2011
Pune Warriors India Subrata Roy 2011 2013
Rising Pune Supergiant Sanjiv Goenka 2016 2018
Gujarat Lions Keshav Bansal 2016 2018
Deccan Chargers T Venkattram Reddy
Gayatri Reddy
2008 2012

Winners of the Indian Premier League from 2008 to 2022

Since its establishment in 2008, the IPL has been played by a total of 13 teams, with only one side, the Mumbai Indians, winning the competition five times. Chennai Super Kings have won the title three times after Mumbai Indians, and Kolkata Knight Riders have won it twice. Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals, and Sunrisers Hyderabad are the other teams who have won the title.

The champions, runners-up, venues, Player of the Series, and number of teams that competed in that year’s IPL are shown below.

Year Winner Runner Up Player of the Series No. of Teams Venue
IPL Winner 2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Faf du Plessis 8 Dubai
IPL winner 2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Trent Boult 8 Dubai
IPL winner 2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Jasprit Bumrah 8 Hyderabad
IPL winner 2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Shane Watson 8 Mumbai
IPL winner 2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants Krunal Pandya 8 Hyderabad
IPL winner 2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Ben Cutting 8 Bangalore
IPL winner 2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Rohit Sharma 8 Kolkata
IPL winner 2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Manish Pandey 8 Bangalore
IPL winner 2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kieron Pollard 9 Kolkata
IPL winner 2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Manvinder Bisla 9 Chennai
IPL winner 2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Murali Vijay 10 Chennai
IPL winner 2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Suresh Raina 8 Mumbai
IPL winner 2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Anil Kumble 8 Johannesburg
IPL winner 2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Yusuf Pathan 8 Mumbai

List of IPL Winners: IPL Teams

In the IPL 2021, Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs. After winning the toss, the Kolkata Knight Riders chose to bowl first. Chennai scored 192 runs in 20 overs, losing three wickets in the process. The Kolkata Night Riders only scored 165 runs in 20 overs, losing nine wickets.

Mumbai Indians are a team based in Mumbai, India

The Mumbai Indians are the most popular IPL team and have won the most titles, five in total. Reliance Industries, India’s largest conglomerate, is the owner of this franchise. It has been a part of the IPL from its establishment in 2008, i.e. since 2008. Rohit Sharma is the current captain of the team, and Mahela Jayawardene was named Head Coach in 2017.

The winner of the IPL in 2021 will be the Chennai Super Kings.

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, is home to the Chennai Super Kings franchise. Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd and India Cement jointly own the team. It has the second-highest amount of titles, with four. Due to the owners’ involvement in the IPL 2013 Betting issue, this franchise has also received a two-year suspension from the league. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the team’s current captain, and Stephen Fleming is the team’s head coach.

The Delhi Capitals are a professional football team based in

The GMR Group and the JSW Group control the Delhi Capitals, which was created in 2008. It was initially known as the Delhi Daredevils, but in IPL 2018, it was renamed the Delhi Capitals. The reason stated was that Delhi is the country’s power centre and the capital, hence the moniker Delhi Capitals. The Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi is the home ground of the Delhi Capitals.

Kolkata Knight Riders is a cricket team based in India.

The Kolkata Knight Riders are one of the most popular teams in the Indian Premier League. In the IPL, it is a legendary Eden Gardens stadium team that represents Kolkata. This team is owned by Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, and her husband Jay Mehta, three well-known Bollywood actors.

KKR defeated Chennai Super Kings in the 2012 IPL and Kings XI Punjab in the 2014 IPL. Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re (we will perform, fight, and win!) is the team’s official theme, and purple and gold are the official colours.

Punjab Kings are a team from Punjab, India.

The Kings XI Punjab franchise cricket team, founded in 2008, is based in Mohali, Punjab, and competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul are the team’s joint owners. In February 2021, before of the IPL 2021, Kings XI Punjab changed their name to Punjab Kings. Because the squad has yet to win a championship, the name has been changed to give the team and its ethos a fresh start.

Rajasthan Royals are a team from Rajasthan, India.

In the year 2008, Rajasthan Royals became the first club to win the IPL title. Under Shane Warne’s captaincy, they won the first edition of the IPL. It is an IPL cricket team headquartered in Jaipur, Rajasthan, at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium. In the IPL 2013 betting controversy, the team was also suspended by the Supreme Court, along with Chennai Super Kings.

Bangalore Royal Challengers

The Royal Challengers are a team from the United Kingdom. Bangalore is called after the Royal Challenge liquor brand. The M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, Karnataka, is home to this franchise cricket team. The squad has never won the IPL, however it came in second place in 2009 and 2016. “Jeetenge Hum Shaan Se” was the team’s theme song for the 2008 season. Shane Watson is the team’s current captain.

Hyderabad Sunrisers

Sunrisers Hyderabad is an Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket franchise based in Hyderabad, Telangana. The franchise was created in 2012 after the IPL dissolved the Hyderabad-based Deccan Chargers. It is owned by Kalanithi Maran of the SUN Group. Kane Williamson is the team’s current captain, while Trevor Bayliss is the team’s coach.