List of Indian National Congress Sessions & Presidents (1885-1947)

List of Indian National Congress Sessions: The Indian National Congress (INC), which was founded in 1885, quickly rose to prominence as one of the country’s most significant political organizations before independence. In 1885, the first meeting of the Indian National Congress took place. It is crucial for the IAS Exam to be aware of the sessions’ dates and presidents of the Indian National Congress.

A party of commoners having notable leaders like Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadar Tilak, Gandhi, Nehru, Bose, etc. as members, it began as an organization made up only of the educated elite in India.

List of Indian National Congress Sessions

The Founding Years (1885-1900)

Date Place President Session
28-30 December 1885 Bombay Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee 1st
27-30 December 1886 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji 2nd
27-30 December 1887 Madras Badruddin Tyyabji (fist Muslim President) 3rd
26-29 December 1888 Allahabad George Yule (first English President) 4th
26-28 December 1889 Bombay Sir William Wedderburn 5th
26-30 December 1890 Calcutta Pherozeshah Mehta 6th
28-30 December 1891 Nagpur P. Ananda Charlu 7th
28-30 December 1892 Allahabad Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee 8th
27-30 December 1893 Lahore Dadabhai Naoroji 9th
26-29 December 1894 Madras Alfred Webb 10th
27-30 December 1895 Pune Surendranath Banerjee 11th
28-31 December 1896 Calcutta Rahimatullah M. Sayani 12th
27-29 December 1897 Amraoti C. Sankaran Nair 13th
29-31 December 1898 Madras Ananda Mohan Bose 14th
27-29 December 1899 Lucknow Romesh Chunder Dutt 15th
27-29 December 1900 Lahore N.G. Chandavarkar

The Pre Independece Era (1900-1947)

Date Place President Session
26-28 December 1901 Calcutta Dinshaw Eduljee Wacha 17th
28-30 December 1902 Ahmedabad Surendranath Banerjee 18th
28-30 December 1903 Madras Lal Mohan Ghosh 19th
26-28 December 1904 Bombay Sir Henry Cotton 20th
27-30 December 1905 Banaras Gopal Krishna Gokhale 21st
26-29 December 1906 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji 22nd
26-27 December 1907 Surat Rash Behari Ghosh 23rd (Session Suspended)
28-30 December 1908 Madras Rash Behari Ghosh 23rd
27-29 December 1909 Lahore Madan Mohan Malviya 24th
26-29 December 1910 Allahabad Sir William Wedderburn 25th
26-28 December 1911 Calcutta Bishan Narayan Dar 26th
26-28 December 1912 Bankipore Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar 27th
26-28 December 1913 Karachi Nawab Syed Mohammed Bahadur 28th
14-15 April 1914 Madras Bhupendra Nath Bose 29th
27-29 December 1915 Bombay Satyendra Prasanna Sinha 30th
26-30 December 1916 Lucknow Ambica Charan Mazumdar 31st
26-29 December 1917 Calcutta Annie Besant 32nd
26-30 December 1918 Delhi Madan Mohan Malviya 33rd
29 August – 1 September 1918 Bombay Romesh Chunder Dutt Special Session
26-30 December 1919 Amritsar Motilal Nehru 34th
26-30 December 1920 Nagpur C. Vijayaraghavachariar 35th
27-28 December 1921 Ahmadabad Hakim Ajmal Khan (Acting President for C.R. Das) 36th
26-31 December 1922 Gaya Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das 37th
4-8 September 1923 Delhi Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad Special session
26-27 December 1924 Belgaum M.K. Gandhi 39th
15-17 April 1925 Cawnpore Mrs. Sarojini Naidu 40th
26-28 December 1926 Gawahati S. Srinivasa Iyengar 41th
26-28 December 1927 Madras M. A. Ansari 42nd
29 December 1928 – 1 January 1929 Calcutta Motilal Nehru 43rd
16-18 April 1929 Lahore Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru 44th
21-31 March 1931 Karachi Vallabhbhai J. Patel 45th
12-14 September 1933 Calcutta Mrs. Nellie Sengupta 47th
24-28 October 1934 Bombay Dr. Rajendra Prasad 48th
18-20 June 1936 Lucknow Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru 49th
12-14 July 1937 Faizpur Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru 50th
19-21 February 1938 Haripura Subhash Chandra Bose 51st
10-12 March 1939 Tripura Subhash Chandra Bose 52nd
19-20 March 1940 Ramgarh Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad 53rd
23-24 November 1946 Meerut J.B. Kriplani 54th

Allan Octavian Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji, and Dinshaw Edulji Wacha founded the Indian National Congress. On December 28, 1885, the Indian National Congress was created. The subject is crucial for UPSC Mains as well.

Indian National Congress sessions-related UPSC questions

1. What were the Indian National Congress’s primary goals?

  • to encourage the nation-building process in India in order to foster national unity and develop a sense of identity among the people as Indians.
  • to create a national political platform that will enable political activists from all across India to organize and educate the public through a single national political party.
  • to encourage political awareness and awakening among the educated population, then to all societal segments.
  • to spread other ideas throughout the nation, such as anti-colonial ideology, democratic culture, and political liberal democracy.

2: Who was the Indian National Congress’s first general secretary?

In the first session, Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee of Calcutta was chosen as the President, and A.O. Hume served as the General Secretary.

3. Whose administration oversaw the inaugural meeting of the Indian National Congress?

The first President of the INC was Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee, to be precise.

4: Who presided over the 1909 Lahore session of the Indian National Congress?

Madan Mohan Malaviya presided over the Lahore Session in 1909.

5. Who was the Viceroy of British India at the time of the Congress’s inaugural meeting?

Lord Dufferin served as viceroy during the INC’s inaugural meeting. Find a list of all viceroys and governors general in the article that is linked.

6. During which session of the Indian National Congress did the Moderates and Extremists split?

In the Surat session of 1907, there was a division between moderates and extremists. (To change the subject to “Extremists & Moderates”)